EEMB Senior and Student Awards 2017

Dean Bazzi Memorial Award

Established in 1985 by the Santa Barbara Audubon Society, is given annually to an outstanding Junior or Senior in the area of aquatic biology, environmental biology, or Zoology, to perpetuate the memory of Dean Bazzi, a 1980 graduate in biological sciences.
Award Recipients
  • Chance James English
  • Maddie Jill Housh

Audrey Lynn Copeland Memorial Award

This award was established in 1985 by Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Copeland, their family, and friends, and is given annually to an outstanding student in the biological sciences, to perpetuate the memory of Audrey Lynn Copeland and her appreciation of nature, enthusiasm for life, and enjoyment of her UCSB experience.
Award Recipients
  • Justin Drew Pretorius

CH Muller Award for Excellence in the Plant Sciences

The C. H. Muller Award was created by a generous gift from Dr. Craig Martin to honor Cornelius H. Muller. Dr. Martin is a UCSB alumnus and former student of Dr. Muller’s, who is currently a Professor of Plant Biology at the University of Kansas. Dr. Muller was one of the original faculty at the Santa Barbara Campus when it became the 8th campus of the University of California in 1958. His enthusiasm for teaching shone through in his classes, seminars, and field trips at UCSB, which are legendary. It was this enthusiasm that provided Craig Martin with tremendous inspiration to pursue a career in academia and to offer this award to support excellence in undergraduate research in the plant sciences.
Award Recipients
  • Timothy Xuan Vinh Ngo

Worster Summer Internship / Research Awards

This award was established through a generous gift from Susan and Bruce Worster to encourage and support undergraduate and graduate research. Undergraduate students selected to receive this award conduct research during the summer and the regular academic year under the mentorship of an EEMB graduate student.
Award Recipients
  • Nathan Anton Maroncelli
  • Timothy Xuan Vinh Ngo

EEMB Distinction in the Major

For outstanding undergraduate research. Individual departments and programs in the College of Letters and Science grant this academic award to students of departmental honors programs who complete a senior honors project or thesis with distinction.
Award Recipients
  • Helena Ann Brantz
  • Joseph Patrick Chellew
  • Gregory Thomas Chism
  • Chance James English
  • Kerstyan Marie Fischbeck
  • Brandon Thomas Hendrickson
  • Maddie Jill Housh
  • Matthew Kimura
  • Kate Mangene McKee
  • Arian Mostofi
  • Reina Evon Myers
  • Timothy Xuan Vinh Ngo
  • Savannah Rose Perez
  • Justin Drew Pretorius
  • Brittany Alexis Tholan
  • Taylor Ann Traxler
  • Aaron Matthew Yim

Outstanding Biology Peer Advisor Award

Awarded to the outstanding peer advisor by Andrew Kroes and Mike Tucker.
Award Recipients
Bryan Jesus Ruiz


Voice: (805) 893-5191


Biology Undergraduate Program
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9620